Who’s Who?



Philip Tarrant Chief Executive
Jo Wood Senior Administrator
Member Services, Newsletter, Website, Venue Hire, Fundraising, Publicity, Befriending, Guiding
Sara Olden Community Support Assistant
Community Support Service, Resource Centre
Marie Evans Counsellor
Emotional Support Service
Gemma Cooper Members Assistant
Member Services, Venue Hire, Fundraising

To send an e-mail, please click on the appropriate name

Bournemouth Blind Society
5 Victoria Park Road
Telephone:  01202 546644
Opening Hours – 

Office:  Monday to Thursday 9am – 4pm,  Friday 9am – 1pm
Resource Centre:  Monday to Friday 10am – 1pm

Charity Number: 1114570
Company Number: 5792657

How to Find Us 


Bournemouth Blind Society is a registered charity governed by a voluntary board of Trustees. The Trustees oversee the direction of the charity and safeguard the interests of the public whose donations make the charity’s work possible. It is the responsibility of the Chief Executive to manage the organisation on a day-to-day basis, assisted by staff and volunteers.

Trustees hold office for a 3 year term and may be re-elected at the next AGM. New trustees are recommended and will be interviewed by the full board of Trustees prior to standing for election. Each Trustee will have a specialism relevant to the Society.

Current Trustees:

  • Madeleine Avis (Chair of Trustees & Legal)
  • Rod Cooper (Education & Training)
  • Martin Goldman (Dispensing Optician)
  • Barbara Russell (Blind ambassador)
  • Joyce Vousden (Young People)


Captain Michael Fulford-Dobson CVO OBE KStJ JP DL Royal Navy